ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT ACB

loting11-02-2.jpg
 

Draw

loting11-02-13.jpg

The participants in the Citizens' Assembly are determined by drawing lots. This print includes two step.

 

The first step is to draw lots 75 statistical sectors within the Brussels-Capital Region. A statistical sector is a geographical area made up of a few streets for which there are statistical data, the number of inhabitants in particular. Also, for this draw, each sector will beweighted by the number of inhabitants.This allows everyone in Brussels to have the same chance of being drawn.

The second stage is divided into several one-week phases. At the start of each phase,a fixed number of postal addresses are drawn at random in each statistical sector.

 

Ainvitation letterto participate in the Citizens' Assembly is sent to each of these addresses. People receiving this mail are free to register or not as participants. In order to encourage participation, Agora plans to reconnect with people residing at the addresses drawnby telephone, if their number is in the telephone book, or hasa pdoor to doorduring the week following the mail.

 

The phases are repeated from one week to another until obtaining a pool of at least178 candidates making it possible to constitute 4 half-assemblies respecting the quotas(3 effective half-assemblies and 1 substitute). This constitution is done using an algorithm that optimizes the distribution of candidates from the pool in order to best respect the quotas in each of the groups.


The draw will be repeatedevery year and a half in order to constitute the following Meetings.

Composition of the CDA

Representative of the Brussels population*

3-together.png
Gender
Age
level of studies

Anyone with the right to vote at regional or municipal level in the Brussels-Capital Region can potentially be drawn.

 

Assembly Size: 50 people

  • The Assembly will be composed of 50% of people defining themselves as women and 50% defining themselves as men**

  • The Assembly will be representative of the different age groups (33% 18-34 years old; 37% 35-54 years old and 30% 55 years old and over)

  • The Assembly will be representative of the different levels of diploma in Brussels (37% lower secondary or less; 27% upper secondary; 36% higher education)

* IBSA demographic surveys 2016-2018.

** The 2018 demographic surveys for the Brussels region are 48.8% men and 51.2% women. Concretely, this would represent 43 to 44 men and 45 to 46 women. However, in order to leave a margin of maneuver in the composition of the meeting and to allow people who do not find themselves in either of the two categories to participate in the Meeting, we propose to ensure the presence of at least 40 males and 40 females and strive for equality.

 
 

Process of a mandate

themandateof a draw will last a year and will be divided into two cycles 5 daysof meetings.Each cycle will give the opportunity to the citizens drawn by lot to express themselves ona subject. Between each subject (so every 6 months), half of the Assembly will be renewed. In this way, continuity in the Assembly is ensured.

 

Each cycle is spread over aduration of 3 and a half months and is organized as follows:

Day 1 :

30/11/2019

- ½ day of reception

- ½ day of discovery of the subject

Days 2,3,4:

11/1/2020 - 8/2/2020 - 7/3/2020 - 210/2 

- Deliberations and interventions by external persons.

- Production of a positioning of the Assembly

 

Day 5: 

25/4/2020

- ½ day to validate a motion for a resolution drafted by AGORA members mandated by the Assembly.

- ½ day of evaluation (personal, possibility of expression, general functioning of the Assembly)

Ma publication-16.png
Ma%20publication-16_edited.png
Ma%20publication-16_edited.png
Ma%2520publication-16_edited_edited.png
20180625_Assemblée_ouverte.jpg
The project
The project
The project

The assembly days will be held on Saturdayfor a full day of9 a.m. to 6 p.m..Citizens drawn at random will receive asmall remunerationper day spent at the Meeting (around €40 per day). Anursery will be scheduled.

1 month between days 1 and 2.

2 weeks between days 2 and 3 and 4.

1 month between days 4 and 5.

Several arrangements have been put in place to ensure an informed debate in which not every citizen can actually take part.

Of thefacilitatorsprofessionals will frame the debate to allow an equal right to speak and avoid the establishment of mechanisms of domination.

The Assembly will welcomespeakers, chosen in order to clarify the stakes of the questions addressed.

The positioning of the Assembly will be determined by methods of common choice, such as themajority judgment.

The validation of the resolution will be based on a vote at themajority of ⅔.

The logo of the Brussels Citizens' Assembly

We have decided to create a graphic charter and a website for the Brussels Citizens' Assembly which are independent of the graphic charter and the website of the Agora movement. 

Although this Assembly is the initiative of the Agora movement, the objective is toinstitutionalize itlong-term. Just as the Brussels Parliament is independent of political parties, the Brussels Citizens' Assembly will therefore be independent of the Agora movement. For the moment, it is of course the volunteers of Agora who are organizing this Assembly, and it is the spokesperson for the movement who is defending the Assembly's proposals within Parliament. In the longer term we hope that the Assembly acquires astatus similar to that of Parliament.This is why we have given it a graphic charter and an independent logo.

For the choice of logo and colors, the movement was inspired by the graphic charter of the Brussels Parliament, while taking care to create a sufficiently different logo to avoid any confusion. Initially, the Assembly logo will always be combined with the Agora logo in order to avoid any possibility of confusion.

The logo can be seen as airi flowers, seen from above, like the iris of Brussels. It flowers, blossoms and opens outwards. At the same time, the logo depicts people gathered around a table discussing, deliberating and listening. These people are many, diverse and of equal status around this table. The petals of the flower suggest an openness rather than a withdrawal into oneself.

LOGO-assemblee2FR.jpg
LOGO-assemblee-grijs1FR.jpg
LOGO-assemblee-blauw1FR.jpg
 
 

Visit the ACB website

Assembly website

TOUT CE QU'IL FAUT SAVOIR SUR L'ACB

 

Tirage au sort

Les participant·es à l’Assemblée Citoyenne sont déterminé·es par tirage au sort. Ce tirage comporte deux étapes.

 

La première étape consiste à tirer au sort 75 secteurs statistiques au sein de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale. Un secteur statistique est une zone géographique composée de quelques rues pour laquelle il existe des données statistiques, le nombre d’habitant·es notamment. Aussi, pour ce tirage, chaque secteur sera pondéré par le nombre d’habitant·es. Ceci permet à chaque Bruxellois·e d’avoir la même chance d’être tiré·e au sort.

La seconde étape se divise en plusieurs phases d’une semaine. Au début de chaque phase, un nombre fixe d’adresses postales sont tirées au sort dans chaque secteur statistique.

 

Un courrier d’invitation à participer à l’Assemblée Citoyenne est envoyé à chacune de ces adresses. Les personnes recevant ce courrier sont libres de s’inscrire ou non comme participant·es. Afin d’inciter à la participation, Agora prévoit de reprendre contact avec les personnes domiciliées aux adresses tirées par téléphone, si leur numéro se trouve dans l’annuaire téléphonique, ou au porte-à-porte dans le courant de la semaine suivant le courrier.

 

Les phases se répètent d’une semaine à l’autre jusqu’à obtenir un pool d’au moins 178 candidat·es permettant de constituer 4 demi-assemblées respectant les quotas (3 demi-assemblées effectives et 1 suppléante). Cette constitution se fait à l’aide d’un algorithme optimisant la répartition des candidat·es issu·es du pool afin de respecter au mieux les quotas dans chacun des groupes.


Le tirage au sort sera répété tous les ans et demi afin de constituer les Assemblées suivantes.

Composition de l'ACB

Représentative de la population bruxelloise*

Genre
Age
Niveau d'études

Toute personne ayant le droit de vote au niveau régional ou communal dans la région de Bruxelles-Capitale peut potentiellement être tiré.e au sort.

 

Taille de l’Assemblée: 89 personnes

  • L'Assemblée sera composée de 50% de personnes se définissant en tant que femme et 50% se définissant en tant qu'homme**

  • L'Assemblée sera représentative des différents groupes d'âge (33% 18-34 ans; 37% 35-54 ans et 30% 55 ans et plus)

  • L’Assemblée sera représentative des différents niveaux de diplôme à Bruxelles (37% secondaire inférieur ou moins; 27% secondaire supérieur; 36% études supérieures)

* Relevés démographiques IBSA 2016-2018.

** Les relevés démographiques de 2018 pour la région Bruxelloise sont de 48,8% d’hommes et 51,2% de femmes. Concrètement, cela représenterait 43 à 44 hommes et 45 à 46 femmes. Cependant, afin de laisser une marge de manoeuvre dans la composition de l’assemblée et de permettre aux personnes ne se retrouvant dans aucune des deux catégories de participer à l’Assemblée, nous proposons de s’assurer de la présence d’au minimum 40 personnes de genre masculin et 40 personnes de genre féminin et de tendre vers une égalité.

 
 

Déroulement d'un mandat

Le mandat d’un·e tiré·e au sort durera un an et sera divisé en deux cycles de 5 jours de réunions. Chaque cycle donnera l’occasion aux citoyen·nes tiré·es au sort de s’exprimer sur un sujet. Entre chaque sujet (donc tous les 6 mois), la moitié de l’Assemblée sera renouvelée. De cette manière, une continuité dans l’Assemblée est assurée.

 

Chaque cycle s’étale sur une durée de 3 mois et demi et est organisé comme suit :

Jour 1 :

30/11/2019

- ½ journée d’accueil

- ½ journée de découverte du sujet

Jours 2,3,4 :

11/1/2020 - 8/2/2020 - 7/3/2020 - 21/3/2020 

- Délibérations et interventions de personnes externes.

- Production d’un positionnement de l’Assemblée

 

Jour 5: 

25/4/2020

- ½ journée pour valider une proposition de résolution rédigée par des membres d’AGORA mandatés par l’Assemblée.

- ½ journée d’évaluation (personnelle, possibilité d’expression, fonctionnement général de l’Assemblée)

Journée de réunion
Espacement de journées
Débat et décisions

Les journées d'assemblées se tiendront les samedi pour une journée complète de 9h à 18h. Les citoyen·nes tiré·es au sort recevront une petite rémunération par journée passée à l’Assemblée (autour de 40€ par jour). Une garderie sera prévue.

1 mois entre les jours 1 et 2.

2 semaines entre les jours 2 et 3 et 4.

1 mois entre les jours 4 et 5.

Plusieurs aménagements sont mis en place afin d’assurer un débat informé auquel chaque citoyen·ne peut effectivement prendre part.

Des facilitateurs professionnels encadreront le débat pour permettre un droit égal à la parole et éviter la mise en place de mécanismes de domination.

L’Assemblée accueillera des intervenant·es, choisi·es afin de clarifier les enjeux des questions traitées.

Le positionnement de l’Assemblée sera déterminé par des méthodes de choix commun, comme le jugement majoritaire.

La validation de la résolution sera basée sur un vote à la majorité des ⅔.

Le logo de l’Assemblée Citoyenne Bruxelloise

Nous avons décidé de créer une charte graphique et un site web pour l’Assemblée Citoyenne Bruxelloise qui sont indépendants de la charte graphique et du site web du mouvement Agora. 

Bien que cette Assemblée soit l’initiative du mouvement Agora, l’objectif est de l'institutionnaliser à long terme. Tout comme le Parlement Bruxellois est indépendant des partis politique, l’Assemblée Citoyenne Bruxelloise sera donc indépendante du mouvement Agora. Pour l’instant, ce sont bien-sûr les bénévoles d’Agora qui organisent cette Assemblée, et c’est le porte-parole du mouvement qui défend les proposition de l’Assemblée au sein du Parlement. À plus long terme nous espérons que l’Assemblée acquiert un statut similaire à celui du Parlement. C’est pour celà que nous l’avons dotée d’une charte graphique et d’un logo indépendant.

Pour le choix du logo et des couleurs, le mouvement s’est laissé inspirer par la charte graphique du Parlement Bruxellois, tout en prenant garde de créer un logo suffisamment différent afin d’éviter toute confusion. Dans un premier temps le logo de l’Assemblée sera d’ailleurs toujours combiné avec le logo d’Agora afin d’éviter toute possibilité de confusion.

Le logo peut être vu comme une fleur d’iris, vu d’en haut, comme l’iris de Bruxelles. Elle fleurit, s’épanouit et s’ouvre vers l’extérieur. En même temps, le logo représente des personnes rassemblées autour d’une table de discussion, en délibération et en écoute. Ces personnes sont multiples, diverses et d’un statut égale autour de cette table. Les pétales de la fleur suggèrent une ouverture plutôt qu’un repli sur soi.

 
 

Visitez le site web de l'ACB

Le site web de l'Assemblée

Agora, 2020

Bruxelles, Belgique