AGORA IN PARLIAMENT

The elected representative of Agora serves as the spokesperson of the Citizens' Assembly in  parliament, where they also work on subjects related to deliberative democracy and citizen participation.

Spokesperson for the Citizens' Assembly

The main function of the elected representative, with the aid of their parliamentary team, is to relay to parliament, through their votes and other interventions, all the positions adopted by the Citizens' Assembly of Brussels. The representative therefore works on these subjects in parliament with the mandate to represent the Assembly. In addition, they work on topics of deliberative democracy and citizen participation with a direct mandate from Agora (see below). On all other topics, the elected member abstains.

 

The elected representative is only minimally involved in the organisation of the meetings while the Assembly is in session, and they do not express their own personal opinion on the topics that are being discussed. However, they may request clarifications or check that they have fully understood the decisions in order to be able to present them accurately in parliament.

In parliament, the elected member attends the plenary meetings and chooses which commissions to follow depending on which subjects have been discussed, or are currently being discussed by the Assembly. In this way, they can put into action the propositions made by an Assembly cycle that has already finished, or can collect information for an Assembly cycle that is currently in session.

When the elected member votes on topics where the Assembly has expressed an opinion, they will try to represent this opinion as faithfully as possible. In interactions with other parliamentarians (for example, when looking for allies for Assembly standpoints), there is limited flexibility because the representative has to stay true to the Assembly decisions as described when debating and advocating for these positions. After the vote, the elected member will give feedback and explain it to the Assembly (if it is still in session).

Screen Shot 2021-06-23 at 15.58.59.png

Pepijn Kennis

Agora's elected representative

Parliament Blog

20201212 ACB1 Presentation 1.JPG

Parliamentary follow-up of
assembly cycles

Cycle 1: Housing

December 2020 saw the conclusion of the first cycle of the assembly (which was a 'productive' one), with the production of a Citizens' Resolution on the topic of housing. This text includes various ideas for improving the regional housing policy.

Currently, the elected representative and his team are putting this resolution into action in the Housing committee and in the plenary sessions.

Cycle 2: Reactive

In June 2021, the second cycle of the Assembly, a 'reactive' one, came to an end, having adopted positions on five resolutions and ordinances discussed in the different parliamentary commissions.

On the basis of the reports of the different working groups, the elected member of parliament follows the relevant commissions, and participates in the name of the assembly, submitting possible proposals for amendments. He then vote in the plenary depending on the assembly's position.

During this cycle a parliamentary question was also produced. The elected representative has tabled it in parliament and will also follow up on this.

Institutionalisation of a Citizens' Assembly

Agora's objective is to set up a permanent Citizen Assembly. An enormous amount of preparatory work is needed to achieve this, up to a change in the constitution!

The Agora representative and his team research what needs to be done, make connections, and consult with experts on the subject.

20191130 ACB1 DAY1 3.png

Promoting Citizen Participation

Mixed commissions

As well as serving as a spokesperson for the Citizens' Assembly, Agora's elected representative works actively on topics related to deliberative democracy and citizen participation.

To this end, the representative participates in the relevant commissions and works with colleagues who are also committed to the cause of democratic renewal.

One striking example of this is the launch of deliberative committees with citizens selected by lot alongside parliamentarians, organised by the Brussels parliament since its current term.

Agora is not directly involved in the organisation of these commissions - this is an initiative of the Brussels parliament. Nonetheless, via its elected representative, Agora was invited to share its experiences related to deliberative democracy and the organisation of citizen assemblies: for example how to implement inclusion, how to coordinate the choice of topics...

In addition, during the plenary session on the approval of the "vade-mecum" (the 'rules of procedure') of the mixed commissions, Agora's elected representative cast the deciding vote: this initiative for democratic innovation would not have happened without Agora's decisive vote.

The two first mixed commissions happened in 2021, focusing on two topics, the implementation of 5G and homelessness. Agora continues to carefully and critically monitor the mixed commissions.

20200111 ACB1 DAY2 1.jpg
safe_image.jpeg

Public consultation

Agora also submitted a proposal for a regional plebiscite. This would be similar to a non-binding referendum, but with three essential differences:

  • The questions which would be put to the population would be chosen by a permanent citizens' council that is selected by lot.

  • Before the vote, a panel of citizens selected by lot would prepare a brochure with information and an overview of arguments for and against, which would then be distributed throughout the region.

  • If parliament decides not to go along with the outcome of this plebiscite, a consultation committee will be set up on the subject.

Speeches in parliament

All speeches made by the Agora elected representative can be consulted via the Parliament website. Please note that it takes a few months for these lists to be shared due to the time needed for translation.

AU PARLEMENT

L'élu parlementaire de Agora est le porte-parole de l'Assemblée Citoyenne au parlement, et y travail aussi sur les sujets de démocratie délibérative et participation citoyenne.

Porte-parole de l’Assemblée Citoyenne

La fonction principale de l'élu, aidé par son équipe parlementaire, est de relayer au parlement via des votes et des interventions toutes les positions prises par l'Assemblée Citoyenne Bruxelloise. Il travaille donc sur ces sujets au parlement avec le mandat de représenter l'Assemblée. En plus de ça, il travail sur les sujets de démocratie délibérative et participation citoyenne avec un mandat direct de Agora (voir plus loin). Sur tout les autres sujets, l'élu s’abstient.

Pendant que l’Assemblée se réunit, l’élu est peu appliqué dans l'organisation des réunions et ne fait pas valoir son avis personnel sur les sujets abordés. Il peut cependant demander des clarifications et reformuler les décisions pour s’assurer de les avoir bien comprises afin de les retransmettre fidèlement au parlement.

Au parlement, l'élu est présent dans les réunions plénières et suit les commissions en fonction des sujets qui ont été ou ont sont actuellement discutés par l’Assemblée. Ainsi, l'élu peut y mettre en actions les propositions d'un cycle d'Assemblée clôturé ou peut y récolter des informations pour un cycle d'Assemblée en cours.

Quand l’élu vote sur des sujets sur lesquels l'Assemblée s’est prononcée, il essaye de reproduire le plus fidèlement possible la position de l'Assemblée. Dans les interactions avec d'autres parlementaires (par exemple en cherchant des alliés pour des positions de l'Assemblée), sa marge de manœuvre est limitée car il doit rester fidèle à l'esprit des décisions de l'Assemblée comme décrit dans le récit de sa délibération et l'argumentation de ces positions. Suite à un vote, l'élu fait un retour explicatif à l’Assemblée (si elle est encore en cours).

Pepijn Kennis

Elu Parlementaire pour Agora

Blog Parlementaire

Suivi parlementaire
des cycles d'assemblée

Cycle 1: Logement

En décembre 2020, le premier cycle de l'assemblée (du type 'productif') a conclu en produisant une Résolution Citoyenne sur le thème du Logement. Ce texte comprend plusieurs idées pour améliorer la politique régionale touchant au Logement.

 

Actuellement, l'élu et son équipe mettent en action cette Résolution dans la commission Logement et en plénière.

Cycle 2: Réactif

En juin 2021, le deuxième cycle de l'assemblée, du type 'réactif', a conclu en se positionnant sur cinq propositions de résolution et d'ordonnance traitées dans les différentes commissions du parlement.

Sur base des rapports des différents groupes de travail, l'élu suis les commissions concernés, y intervient au nom de l'assemblée et soumet les éventuels amendements proposés. Ensuite, il vote en plénière selon la position de l'assemblée.

Au long de ce cycle une question parlementaire a aussi été produite. L'élu l'a déposée au parlement et la poursuit également.

Institutionalisation d'une Assemblée Citoyenne

L'objectif de Agora est de mettre en place une Assemblée Citoyenne permanent. Tout un travail préparatoire est nécessaire pour réaliser cela, même jusqu'a un changement de la constitution!

 

L'élu Agora et son équipe étudient ce qui doit être fait, établissent des liens et consultent des experts sur le sujet.

20191130 ACB1 DAY1 3.png

Promouvoir la Participation Citoyenne

Commissions mixtes

A côté de sa fonction comme porte-parole de l’Assemblée Citoyenne, l'élu Agora travaille activement sur les thèmes de démocratie délibérative et participation citoyenne.

Pour cela, l'élu participe aux commissions concernées et travail avec ses collèges engagé par la cause du renouvellement démocratique.

Un exemple marquant est la mise en oeuvre des commissions de délibération avec des citoyens tirés au sort et des parlementaires, organisées par le parlement bruxellois depuis cette législature.

Agora n'est pas concerné dans l'organisation même de ces commissions - l'initiative est porté par le parlement bruxellois. Néanmoins, via son élu, Agora a été invité à partager ses expériences sur la démocratie délibérative et sur l'organisation d'assemblées citoyennes: comment mettre en pratique de l'inclusion, comment organiser le choix des sujets, ...

De plus, lors de la session en plénière sur l'approbation du vade-mecum (le 'règlement de fonctionnement') des commissions mixtes, le vote de l'élu Agora a été décisif: cette initiative d'innovation démocratique n'aurait pas vu le jours sans le vote déterminant d'Agora.

Les deux premières commissions mixtes ont lieu en 2021, sur les thèmes du développement de la 5G et du sans-abrisme. Agora continu a suivre les commissions mixtes de prêt avec un oeil critique.

20200111 ACB1 DAY2 1.jpg
safe_image.jpeg

Consultation Populaire

Agora a également soumis une proposition de plébiscite régional. Il s'agirait d'une forme de référendum non contraignant, mais avec trois différences essentielles :

  • Le choix de la question à poser à la population appartient à un conseil citoyen permanent tiré au sort.

  • Avant le vote, un panel citoyen tiré au sort crée une brochure informative avec des arguments pour et contre, qui est ensuite distribuée dans toute la région

  • Si le parlement décide de ne pas suivre l'issue de ce plébiscite, une commission de concertation sera mise en place sur le sujet.

Toutes les interventions

Toutes les interventions de l'élu Agora sont consultables via le site du Parlement. Notez que ces listes connaissent un retard structurel de quelques mois vu le temps nécessaire pour la traduction.