Contact us

Does the democratic issue excite you? Do you want to work on a concrete shift towards a democratic culture that places its trust in its citizens, that dares to believe in real deliberation, representation and participation of all Brussels residents, Bruxellois.es and Brusselaars? And get to work with a great team of volunteers? Join Agora!

Agora is a citizens' political movement that runs on energy of a lot of different sources! The movement was launched by a handful of volunteers and now has seven employees and around thirty volunteers. Inspired by the idea of sociocracy, Agora is organised into working groups, each with legitimacy to act on its topic, using places and tools to help share information and, where necessary, make joint decisions. 

Photo final.jpg
20180929 Agoralanceringlancemen4.JPG

Want to get involved, but you're not sure how much time you have to give? No worries! It's possible to volunteer for Agora in different ways, and with different levels of commitment, at your own speed and tempo:

  • Help out from time to time: you'd like to help us when it's possible, once in a while? And you're interested in helping us with specific tasks on a short-term basis? For example:

    • when we are selecting citizen participants by lot, you can help by distributing letters in Brussels

    • welcome assembly participants on the day of the assembly.

    • help translate texts for the assembly or parliamentary team, or help interpret and translate on the day of the assembly itself...
       

  • Volunteer on a permanent basis: perhaps you'd like to join one of the working groups and dive deeper into a specific aspect of the project. If you want to participate regularly in meetings, and you can commit to one or more tasks on a medium- or long-term basis, for example:

    • help edit the press releases if you work with the Communication working group

    • organise events and activities to promote the well-being of volunteers by joining the 'Source' working group 

    • organise an event about participatory democracy together with Agora and partner organisations from the network if you join the RelEx working group.

  • Become an ambassador: if you've been following us from afar, and the project speaks to you, maybe you'd like to support Agora by getting people interested and sharing information. Help us with external communication by spreading the word and other calls to action with people you know!

    • for example, the night before an election, you send a message to encourage your friends and family to vote for Agora

We really appreciate the interest of anyone who is considering joining the project, so we organise special welcome moments for potential new volunteers. Here you will learn about the basics of the Agora project and how it's organised, plus there's time to ask any questions during the Q&A. We will talk about the communication tools we use. We have also set up a buddy system to support new volunteers and provide a more personal (and informal) follow-up.

To get a general idea of what Agora is about, check out 'Hey Agora!', our guide which gives a basic introduction to this project (in French and Dutch). We will happily answer any questions about this document during our meeting. 

20180625_Assemblée_ouverte5.jpg

It's important to know that, as a volunteer, you have no direct impact on the choice of topics or decisions made within the assembly, nor on our elected member of parliament. Our work as volunteers focuses on developing and promoting this form of democracy - and making the magic of participation happen through the contributions of the participants who are selected by lot!

If you'd like to join the movement and get involved in Agora, fill in the form below (or get in touch with us via info@agora.brussels)

NOUS REJOINDRE

La question démocratique te chatouille? Tu veux travailler vers un changement concret d’une culture démocratique qui fait confiance aux citoyens et citoyennes, qui ose croire dans la délibération, la représentation et la participation de toutes les bruxelloises et bruxellois? Et tout ça avec une chouette bande de bénévoles? Rejoins Agora!

Agora c’est un mouvement citoyen politique qui tourne grâce à plein d’énergies différentes ! Le mouvement a été lancé par une poignée de bénévoles et compte aujourd’hui 7 employé·es et une trentaine de bénévoles. Inspiré de la sociocratie, Agora s’est organisé en groupes de travail, chacun légitime d'agir sur ses sujets, dans des lieux et avec des outils qui facilitent le passage d’information et la prise de décision commune là où besoin. 

Photo final.jpg
20180929 Agoralanceringlancemen4.JPG

Tu aimerais donner un coup de main mais tu ne sais pas encore avec quelle intensité tu veux t’engager? No stress! Il existe plusieurs niveaux d’investissement à Agora, au tempo de chacune et chacun:

  • Aide ponctuelle : tu aimerais bien nous aider par ci par là. ça te parle de nous aider pour certaines missions précises sur du court terme.

    • exemple → Aider comme facteur·rice lors d’un tirage au sort des citoyens et citoyennes en postant des lettres à Bruxelles

    • exemple → Aider le jour de l’assemblé à l’accueil des assemblistes

    • exemple → Aider à traduire des textes pour l’assemblée ou l’équipe parlementaire, ou aider comme traducteur ou traductrice lors d’un jour de l’assemblée ...

  • Bénévole permanent·e : tu aimes être bien intégré dans un groupe de travail pour travailler un aspect en profondeur. Tu as envie de participer régulièrement à des réunions et de t’atteler à une ou plusieurs tâches sur du moyen/long terme 

    • exemple → Soutenir la rédaction des communiqués de presse dans le groupe de travail Communication

    • exemple → Organiser des moments bien-être pour les bénévoles dans le groupe de travail Des Sources

    • exemple → Organiser un événement autour de la démocratie participative avec Agora et d’autres acteurs et actrices du réseau dans le groupe de travail RelEx

  • Ambassadeur·drice : tu nous suis de plus loin, mais le projet te parle et tu aimerais soutenir  Agora pour mobiliser des gens et faire passer les infos. Soutiens-nous dans la communication externe en diffusant les messages et autres appels dans tes réseaux!

    • exemple → la veille des élections, tu diffuses un SMS pour encourager tes proches à voter pour Agora

Voulant prendre soin des personnes interessées à rejoindre le projet, Agora organise des moments d’accueil pour de potentiel·les nouveaux·elles bénévoles. Tu découvriras les bases du projet Agora et de son organisation, tu auras le temps de poser tes questions durant un moment Questions Réponses et on te présentera les outils de communication qui sont utilisés. Des buddies y sont aussi créé·es pour faciliter un suivi plus personnel (et informel) du parcours de bénévole.

Pour te donner une première idée générale de ce qu’est Agora, voici le 'Coucou Agora' qui reprend les grandes lignes de ce projet. Nous répondrons aux éventuelles questions concernant ce document lors de notre rencontre. 

20180625_Assemblée_ouverte5.jpg

Sache que en tant que bénévole, on n’a pas d'influence directe sur le contenu ou les décisions de l'assemblée, ni sur l’élu parlementaire. On s'investit ensemble pour développer et mettre en avant cette forme de démocratie - et faire jouer la magie de la participation par les contributions des assemblistes tiré·es au sort!

Si tu as envie de rejoindre le mouvement et de t’investir dans le projet d’Agora, remplis le formulaire ci-dessous (ou contacte-nous via info@agora.brussels)