MANIFESTO

Democracy means power of the people. In other words, the people are sovereign, with space for differences and diversity. Everyone has an equal right to be heard and to contribute to how society is run. To do this, people have to be able to use the instruments of power, to have the opportunity to take part in debates, and participate in making decisions.

The word 'democracy' comes from the Greek words 'Demos' - meaning 'people' - and 'Kratos' - or 'power'. The Greeks were one of the first civilisations to experiment with democracy.

People are diverse and have different ideas and interests, and these must be heard and taken into account in a systematic and formalised way. If the people are 'sovereign', and have the power, then it has to be possible for every person either to be the one in charge, or the one being governed. And to exercise power in a sovereign way, it is necessary for everyone to have access to the information, and also be able to participate in the debate, express their opinions and take a stand. To make this possible, we need structures that encourage everyone to get involved in an equal and fair way, and be able to exchange and compare their ideas. To give the process legitimacy, everyone must be engaged in the debates and also contribute to formulating proposals for legislation.

The current system of representative democracy currently both lacks legitimacy and is ineffective. People no longer feel that their elected representatives truly represent them, and those in charge find it increasingly difficult to fulfill their role as rulers.

Many people no longer trust their elected officials. And not just because of the lack of transparency or repeated corruption and scandals. Today's decision-makers are not sufficiently representative of our diverse society. We are governed by our leaders, yet most of us do not participate in political life. And even though we have the right to vote, we can only express how we feel during the elections, once every five years. Moreover, at election time we are only allowed to choose between a set number of political professionals, and we have very little ability to hold these elected officials to account. In addition, it is difficult for a politician to know what people really need or what difficulties they have. Elected officials seem to be motivated by the need to win the elections above everything else, rather than by the desire to improve people's daily lives.

Drawing lots helps to strengthen democracy. Our aim is to build the democracy of the twenty-first century. The initial idea is to expand the current system by adding an assembly of Brussels residents who are selected randomly by lot.

Belgium only has one type of democracy, which we call representative democracy based on elections. But other options do exist. As early as antiquity, Greek citizens benefitted from a system of drawing lots which allowed them to switch between being ruled and being the rulers, thus making them more motivated and encouraging them to act with greater integrity, while also giving them better knowledge of real life, both of the people and of politics.

Our approach aims to draw inspiration from the models of the past to develop a more egalitarian system, based on the principles of participatory democracy which have been successfully tested by many communities in the past, and improved over the centuries. Brussels is in a position to welcome this democratic renewal, which goes much further than simple citizen consultation.

*Our movement's objective is to make selection of representatives by lot into an established aspect of the institutions of power in the Brussels-Capital Region.

We therefore propose that:

(1) we will collect and share information about the use of selection by lot as a system of governance. This will help spread knowledge and foster reflection in Brussels. 

(2) we will study the options for integrating selection by lot in a sustainable way into the Belgian and Brussels systems, taking into account our specific context.

(3) we will support the establishment of actual assemblies of Brussels residents selected by lot, in order to promote participatory democracy as part of a transition towards a more sustainable system focusing on the common good of everyone.

Contact us at contact@agora.brussels and come meet us soon!

In more detail... Our inspirations

Of course not everyone agrees with the arguments put forward by Van Reybrouck. And thank goodness for that, since we're living in a democracy!

Nonetheless, the idea has inspired researchers, politicians and activists throughout the world. We encourage you to read more about it here:

Researchers have also explored the question. Two recent and interesting articles can be found here: Bouricius, Terrill G. (2013). La démocratie à tirage au sort multi-institutionnel: Leçons athéniennes pour les temps modernes.

TEXTE FONDATEUR

Notre texte fondateur:

La démocratie, c’est le pouvoir du peuple. Autrement dit, le peuple est souverain, compte tenu de sa diversité. Chacun·e dispose d’un droit égal à être entendu·e et à contribuer à la gestion de la société. Il/elle doit pour cela pouvoir utiliser les instruments du pouvoir, avoir la possibilité de prendre part aux débats et participer à la prise des décisions.

Le mot ‘démocratie’ vient des mots grecs ‘Demos’ - le peuple - et ‘Kratos’ - le pouvoir. Les Grecs ont été parmi les premiers à expérimenter la démocratie.

Le peuple est divers et a des idées et des intérêts divergents, qui doivent être entendus et pris en compte de manière systématique et formelle. Pour que le peuple soit souverain, il faut la possibilité pour chacun.e d’être gouvernant.e ou gouverné.e. Et pour exercer le pouvoir de manière souveraine, chacun.e doit avoir accès aux informations, mais aussi pouvoir prendre part au débat, exprimer ses opinions et prendre position. Pour cela, il faut des structures qui poussent chacun.e à s’engager, de manière égalitaire, dans la confrontation des idées. Pour donner un poids réel à ce débat, chacun.e doit être impliqué.e dans les débats et dans la formulation des propositions de lois.

Notre système de démocratie représentative souffre actuellement d’un manque de légitimité et d’efficacité. Les gens ne se sentent plus vraiment représentés par leurs élus, qui ont de plus en plus de mal à remplir leur rôle de gouvernants.

Beaucoup de personnes n’ont plus confiance en leurs élus. Et pas seulement en raison du manque de transparence ou des crises de corruption successives. Les décideurs actuels ne sont pas suffisamment représentatifs de la diversité de la société. Nous, les gouvernés, ne participons souvent pas à la vie politique. Et ceux qui ont le droit de vote ne s’expriment qu’au moment des élections, tous les cinq ans. D’ailleurs, lors des élections, nous n’avons le choix qu’entre différents professionnels de la politique et notre capacité à demander des comptes à ces élus est très limitée. En plus, il est difficile pour un politicien de savoir de quoi les gens ont réellement besoin ou quelles sont leurs difficultés. L’attention des élus semble mobilisée avant tout par la nécessité de gagner les élections, plutôt que par la volonté d’améliorer le quotidien des gens.

 

Le tirage au sort permet de renforcer la démocratie. L’objectif est de construire la démocratie du XXIe siècle. L’idée de départ est de compléter le système actuel par une assemblée de Bruxelloises et de Bruxellois tiré·e·s au sort.

En Belgique nous ne connaissons qu’une variante de la démocratie, appelée la démocratie représentative élective. D’autres options existent. Pendant l’Antiquité déjà, les citoyens grecs bénéficiaient d’un système de tirage au sort qui leur permettait d’être tour à tour gouvernants et gouvernés, ce qui contribuait à leur motivation et leur intégrité, mais aussi à leur connaissance des réalités, à la fois du peuple et de la politique.

L’idée est de s’inspirer des modèles du passé pour développer un système plus égalitaire. De partir des principes de la démocratie participative, qui ont été expérimentés avec succès par de nombreuses communautés avant nous et ont été améliorés au fil des siècles. Bruxelles est à même d’accueillir ce renouveau démocratique, qui va bien plus loin que la simple concertation citoyenne.

L’objectif de notre mouvement est d’institutionnaliser le tirage au sort dans la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale.

Pour cela, nous proposons de

(1) répertorier les informations disponibles sur le tirage au sort comme système de gouvernance. Ceci permettra de partager les connaissances et d’alimenter la réflexion dans la RBC. Nous allons aussi

(2) étudier de quelle façon il est possible d’intégrer le tirage au sort de manière durable dans le système belge et bruxellois, compte tenu de notre contexte spécifique. Finalement, nous nous engageons à

(3) soutenir la mise en place concrète d’assemblées de Bruxelloises et Bruxellois tiré.e.s au sort, afin de promouvoir la démocratie participative en tant que transition vers un système plus pérenne et centré sur l’intérêt général.

Contactez-nous via contact@agora.brussels pour se rencontrer le plus rapidement possible.

Aller plus loin ... Nos inspirations

Les arguments de Van Reybrouck ne font, bien sûr, pas l’unanimité. Et tant mieux, puisqu’on est dans une démocratie !

Pourtant, l’idée inspire chercheurs, politiciens et activistes partout dans le monde. Nous vous invitons à en lire plus ici :

Les scientifiques aussi se penchent sur la question. Deux articles récents et intéressants sont :

Agora, 2020

Bruxelles, Belgique